9 Comments

The end of the journey for me (To new beginnings!)

It is with immense sadness that I announce I am resigning as Director of HireMatch.me. To say it’s tough to leave something that was an idea generated from a deeply personal experience like not being able to find a job is a ridiculous understatement. Especially since we’ve been working on it for almost three years. I always said I have three kids: two boys, ages 4 and 1; and a startup, age 2 1/2.

Ironically, the reason I’m leaving HireMatch.me is my desire to help provide for my two children and my amazing wife, who I have not given nearly enough credit to over the course of my journey. I wouldn’t have made it this far without her unflinching belief in me and her complete support. She is my rock.

I leave my third “child” in the very capable hands of my business partner, OraRuth Rother, who will continue to run the business. I still 110% believe in the value of using assessment based matching as the first step in the recruitment process (even more today than when we started) and that HireMatch.me is the solution companies and candidates sorely need.

There has been enormous growth in understanding how assessments can help companies make better hiring decisions by considering work behaviors and cultural fit over skills and experience. You can read more about that in an article by Dr. Charles Handler, Matching: The Newest Flavor of Assessment Tools.

So, onto my next challenge – whatever that may be. A job that pays would be nice. I will be writing more about the crazy startup life, which will hopefully help budding entrepreneurs understand the process and perhaps learn from me and some of the valuable lessons I’ve picked up along the way. It’s a rough, but incredibly rewarding road…even when it doesn’t turn out as planned.

9 comments on “The end of the journey for me (To new beginnings!)

  1. Good for you for following your dreams. We are very proud of you and know that great things lie ahead.

  2. All the best Marc… Seems all change, all over. Something tells me you’ll be landing squarely on both feet…

  3. Thanks Sabrina and Martin. To use a cliche, everything happens for a reason. Maybe now I’ll really figure out what I want to be when I grow up!

  4. I feel for ya buddy! I cannot imagine how tough this decision had to be for you! Things like this really make you count your blessings, and realize what really is important in life. You have a wonderful family and fantastic friends that love you and will support you in whatever endeavor your follow. Congrats on making a tough decision and know that the Woods are always here for you!

  5. I wish you were close so I could hug, no, squeeze you tight. I could NOT be more proud of my big brother. You amaze me, and I’m so proud to be your sister. I love and miss you all!

  6. I know how much this venture meant to you and how hard you worked at it so this must have been such a huge decision. You will be a great asset to whoever employs you and I wish you all the luck in finding your next challenge… : )

    • Thanks Bryn! I have really appreciated all your support from the early days, even when we were called For Direct Hire! Seems like forever ago. I things are going well for you.

Leave a comment